St Anne’s parkrun Event number 148 17th September 2016

With 300 athletes, 22 super volunteers and an absolutely stunning day our weekly pilgrimage to St Annes park, worshipping at the altar of parkrun, for the 148th time kicked off. I have to thank all the volunteers for another superb job. We had a surprise afterwards when Meryl Diab sent us a link of the photographs she had taken during the run, which are amazing.

It was a special day for junior parkrunner Dylan Folan as he celebrated his 10th parkrun qualifying him for his 1st milestone t-shirt. Congratulations on your achievement Dylan and welcome to your first parkrun official club.

Melbourne, London, Hastings and Weymouth came calling. Manchester came calling and brought along a birthday girl for the day. We love to have visitors to our run and all people were very welcome. There were a substantial number of first timers to our run, some on their first ever parkrun and all were also very welcome.

This was also the last week of our official year so the final points positions were decided with the prizes being given out at our birthday bash on the 1st of October. This will be our 3rd birthday. Our official birthday is the fourth Saturday in September but our celebration is delayed until the following week as the Dublin Race Series Half Marathon takes place on September 24th with a number of our core team and regular runners taking part. So please join us on October 1st.

Don't forget top cast your vote in the parkrunner of the year poll which is now underway.

Now concentrate, here comes the science bit.

Male placings:
Ernie RAMSEY (SM30-34) of Clonliffe Harriers A.C., was first over the line in 17:27 - 4th time in 19 appearances.
Mark MURPHY (SM30-34) of Raheny Shamrocks AC, was second over the line in 17:36 - was first to finish once before.
Graham O'DWYER (SM20-24) (Unattached) was third over the line in 17:58.

Current standing in the Men's annual points competition:
Keith FLEMING (Raheny Shamrocks AC) 3554 pts.
Alan O' FLYNN (Raheny Shamrocks AC) 3483 pts.
Ollie POWER (Unattached) 3212 pts.

Female placings:
Caitriona COSTELLO (VW40-44) of Raheny Shamrocks AC, was first (30th overall) over the line in 20:36 - 11th time in 72 appearances.
Kasia LACHOWICZ (VW35-39) (Unattached) was second (61st overall) over the line in 22:17.
Olivia CLUXTON (VW35-39) (Unattached) was third (65th overall) over the line in 22:37.

Current standing in the Women's annual points competition:
Caitriona COSTELLO (Raheny Shamrocks AC) 4141 pts.
Jean DUNNE (Unattached) 3216 pts.
Mary LYNCH (Raheny Shamrocks AC) 3137 pts.

The following runners recorded the best Age Grade scores:
Gerry BRADY (VM60-64) was graded 80.70% for the time 19:52 (15th overall).
Patrick COOKE (VM60-64) was graded 76.96% for the time 20:50 (33rd overall).
Ernie RAMSEY (SM30-34) was graded 75.17% for the time 17:27 (first overall).

This week there were 300 runners, of whom 44 were first timers and 53 recorded new Personal Bests. Representatives of 15 different athletics clubs took part.

St Anne's parkrun started on 28th September 2013, and since then 6,479 different runners, including participants from 217 athletics clubs, have completed 36,547 runs covering a total distance of 182,735 km, and there have been 7,468 new Personal Bests.

The female record is held by Aoife TALTY who ran in a time of 00:16:51 on 28th September 2013 (event number 1).
The male record is held by Mark KIRWAN who ran in a time of 00:15:03 on 26th July 2014 (event number 41).
The Age Grade course record is held by Mick TRAYNOR who recorded a 91.78% run (15:49) on 28th September 2013 (event number 1).

Today's full results and a complete event history can be found on the St Anne's parkrun Results Page.