St. Anne’s parkrun – Event #73 – 14th March 2015

It was a cool morning on Saturday, as we welcomed 294 runners to St. Anne's for parkrun #73. Many were decked out in green to mark St. Patrick's Weekend and in support of Ireland for the rugby match with Wales later that afternoon... the less said about that the better! We had a few runners celebrating their 50th parkrun too: Nici Roechert, Craig McMullen, Emma Feehan and Emer Fanning, while James Hyland joined the 10 club (junior category). Congrats guys!

Might I also take this opportunity to congratulate Eleanor Sammon on not only finishing in the coveted 98th position on Saturday, but also being awarded Irish parkrunner of the month. Read Eleanor's story on the latest parkrun Ireland newsletter:

Men's placings:
Anthony MULHOLLAND (SM25-29) of Piranha TC, was first over the line in 17:14 - first time in 2 appearances.
Conor DELANEY (VM40-44) of Clonliffe Harriers A.C., was second over the line in 17:52.
Eoin CALLAGHAN (SM25-29) of Star of the Sea, was third over the line in 18:13 - was first to finish once before.

Women's placings:
Niamh CORRY (JW15-17) of Raheny Shamrocks AC, was first (12th overall) over the line in 19:24 - first appearance.
Aine CRIMIN (SW25-29) of Raheny Shamrocks AC, was second (21st overall) over the line in 20:33.
Jenny COLBERT (VW45-49) (Unattached) was third (47th overall) over the line in 22:36 - has been first to finish on 2 previous occasions.

Current standing in the Men's annual points competition:
Keith FLEMING (Unattached) 1526 pts.
Brian CHRISTENSEN (Raheny Shamrocks AC) 1517 pts.
Keith COADY (Unattached) 1424 pts.

Current standing in the Women's annual points competition:
Caitriona COSTELLO (Unattached) 1986 pts.
Emer FANNING (Unattached) 1842 pts.
Una CHERRY (Garda Athletic Club) 1742 pts.

This week there were 294 runners, of whom 29 were first timers and 75 recorded new Personal Bests. Representatives of 16 different athletics clubs took part. This week's event was brought to you by:

Ann Marie GRAHAM • Austin O'SULLIVAN • Connor JENNINGS • Declan ROBINSON • Diarmuid BYRNE • Emer FANNING • Fia MOORE • Gillian KENNY • Gregory O'BEIRNE • Jamie KILLEEN • Leonie WEEKES • Maia MOORE • Mia MAC MAHON • Muriel WEEKES • Noeleen SALTER • Ruby MURPHY • Sinead Margaret O'NEILL • Teresa TALBOT • Una CHERRY

Remember parkrun is a community event so if you want to volunteer, please email us at or on our Facebook page It's fun, you're giving something back to the St Anne's parkrun community, and you are also edging closer to getting a free TShirt! What more could you want! Check out the future roster page for more details.

REMINDER: There is no parkrun on 28th March due to the BHAA race taking place in the park on that day. If you are not taking part in that, why not take a trip south to Cabinteely or Shanganagh parkrun which both start on that day.

St Annes parkrun started on 28th September 2013, and since then 3,627 different runners, including participants from 120 athletics clubs, have completed 15,959 runs covering a total distance of 79,795 km, and there have been 3,728 new Personal Bests.

The women's record is held by Aoife TALTY who ran in a time of 00:16:51 on 2013-09-28 (event number 1).
The men's record is held by Mark KIRWAN who ran in a time of 00:15:03 on 2014-07-26 (event number 41).
The Age Grade course record is held by Mick TRAYNOR who recorded a 91.78% run (15:49) on 28th September 2013 (event number 1).

Today's full results and a complete event history can be found on the St. Anne's results page, Event #73

Jamie Killeen,
Event Director