Run Report Event #150

Ballincollig parkrun
Event number 150
4th May 2019

There was a great atmosphere this morning for our 150th event. We had a record number of pacers for the launch of 21 new official pacer bibs and 448 new finish tokens.

We want to thank GSK who provided the funding for the bibs and tokens as part of their Community Investment Fund. We would also like to thank Dave Herlihy, a regular parkrunner and GSK employee who nominated us for the funding. Both Dave and Nollaig Murphy, who was a regular volunteer before moving further afield, represented GSK at the photoshoot. The pacer bibs worked - there were 18 pacers and 110 pbs :-)

A special thank you to Joe Murphy who took the time to take loads of photos of the pacers before the run.

This week 482 people ran, jogged and walked the course, of whom 42 were first timers, 18 were pacers and 110 recorded new Personal Bests. Representatives of 32 different clubs took part. That was the 10th time so far this year when the numbers exceeded 400.

The event was made possible by 45 volunteers led by RD Daniela:

Enda KIERNAN • Denis Tony KELLEHER • Ruth FARRELL • Michael FLANAGAN • John KISSANE • Shane O'CALLAGHAN • Proinnsias O'KEEFFE • Nollaig MURPHY • Joe MURPHY • Denise MURPHY • Maretta BRENNAN • Michael BRENNAN • Ríain BRENNAN • Brendan DEANE • Trevor COLLINS • Emer O SULLIVAN • Daniela MORGENSTERN • Joe CONROY • Michael CREED • Patricia GOULDING • Martin LYNCH • Julie O SULLIVAN • Maria MADIGAN • Eleanor BALDWIN • Robert HOWE • Graham MEIKLE • Don FITZGERALD • Peter O HANLON • Jane MOFFATT • Aine CROTTY • Anthony CREED • Donal FENNESSY • Dj O'SULLIVAN • Peter HABERMAYER • Gerald DONAGHUE • Uzma SHAHEEN • Emily GOUGH • Nick HOGAN • Donna PEYTON • Muhammad MAJID • Noelle O'SULLIVAN • Mike MC KEON • Caroline BETTS • Sadie GOODWIN • Thomas WALSH

Today's full results and a complete event history can be found on the Ballincollig parkrun Results Page.

Congratulations to the latest members of the various clubs:

  • To Aoibhinn GUILFOYLE who joined the junior 10 club.
  • To Anne Marie MOLLOY, Deirdre LEE and Eugene MCVEIGH who joined the 50 club,
  • There were extra special celebrations for Keitaro ADO who joined the 100 club. He wasn't pacing as he was weighed down with balloons and badges but he crossed the finish line bang on 23:00 minutes. Keitaro returns home to Japan in the coming days but he was given a great sendoff by his fellow parkrunners - I'm not too sure though if the whiskey will be permitted on the plane :-)  The inaugural parkrun took place in Japan on 6th April. Who knows - maybe he will be an Event Director at the next one.

The male record is held by Tim O DONOGHUE who recorded a time of 16:01 on 8th April 2017 (event number 43).
The female record is held by Lizzie LEE who recorded a time of 17:39 on 29th December 2018 (event number 131).
The Age Grade course record is held by Conor ENRIGHT who recorded 91.67% (20:24) on 5th August 2017 (event number 60).

Ballincollig parkrun started on 18th June 2016. Since then 7,052 participants have completed 42,457 parkruns covering a total distance of 212,285 km, including 7,996 new Personal Bests. A total of 626 individuals have volunteered 3,608 times.